Why This Is A Nice Place™

A senior Obama advisor confirms to NBC News that Illinois Rep. Rahm Emanuel has accepted the job of Chief of Staff for the Obama White House.

Granted, his spokeswoman is currently denying the story, but for some reason I can just feel the change running wild on you!

What a better person to bring about the bipartisanship America needs?  To heal our divisions and wounds?

“I’ll tell you this,” Emanuel shouted out to his staff. “The Republicans may have the 72-hour program. But they have not seen the 22-month program!

“Since my kids are gone, I can say it: They can go —- themselves!”

It all reminds me of my favorite part of Kierkegaard’s Either/Or:

 

  Just as, according to the legend Parmeniscus in the Trophonian cave lost his ability to laugh, but recovered it again on the island of Delos at the sight of a shapeless block which was exhibited as the image of the goddess Leto: likewise did it happen to me. When I was very young I forgot in the Trophonian cave how to laugh; but when I grew older and opened my eyes and contemplated the real world, I had to laugh, and have not ceased laughing, ever since. I beheld that the meaning of life was to make a living; its goal, to become Chief Justice; that the delights of love consisted in marrying a woman with ample means; that it was the blessedness of friendship to help one another in financial difficulties; that wisdom was what most people supposed it to be; that it showed enthusiasm to make a speech, and courage, to risk being fined 10 dollars; that it was cordiality to say “may it agree, with you” after a repast; that it showed piety to partake of the communion once a year. saw that and laughed.

At A Nice Place™ we laugh, for various reasons.  I do not laugh for the reasons Kierkegaard’s A laid out.  I laugh because I know how it all ends, and that I don’t need to take this stuff all too seriously.  It’s theatrical irony!  All of these people are running to and fro, to and fro, to and fro, when I know the ending is a wedding anyway.

So here’s what we get. A presidential candidate with little record wins.  He tells people people about the new hope, change, and bipartisanship he’s going to bring. Then, he makes one of the most partisan members of his party his Chief of Staff.  I hear John Kerry is rumored to be his Secretary of State.  It was all a charade.  What’s next?  Keith Olbermann, Press Secretary?

So I laugh at it.  That’s why I can’t take it seriously anymore.

Like Billy Crystal said: A Nice Place™ isn’t about our problems, but making fun of everyone else’s.  That’s why it’s so nice.

Addendum: It also looks like a convicted felon is going to win in Alaska.  What does he have to do to lose?  They could find him in bed with a little boy and still elect the guy.  And then people complain about how congress is corrupt and can’t get anything done.  Convicted felon isn’t a good enough red flag?

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why This Is A Nice Place™

  1. Billy Crystal says:

    I will not allow my name to be used in this trash!

Leave a Reply

