I Read the News Today Oh Boy…

Ah, the morning.  Prime blogging season.  Unfortunately, I haven’t been blogging much the last couple of days so I must apologize to our five readers.  I know you live on every word I speak, and die with every word I do not, but I have a life.  Unlike you, my hypothetical reader.  Please do not despair as I have papers to write, the universe the contemplate, and ideas to concoct!

A few thoughts.

Yesterday’s big controversy was that Yale abortion art thing.  Well, turns out it was a “creative fiction” so instead of being inhumane, evil, and damning; it’s just gross and banal.  According to the AP piece:

“The entire project is an art piece, a creative fiction designed to draw attention to the ambiguity surrounding form and function of a woman’s body,” said Yale spokeswoman Helaine Klasky.

Now I must admit, I’m just a poor hick from the north.  I haven’t gone to your fancy Ivy League schools and don’t speak your fancy Ivy League language.  But… what the hell is that supposed to mean?  What’s so ambiguous?

There was a video posted on youtube of Aliza Shvarts on some soapbox (literally) talking about, like, deep things, you know?  First time through I had to shut it off, second time through I barely lived it.  After about 4 minutes of talking all she really said was, “‘The institution’ forms our language, and we can’t speak their language and speak truth, so we do really terrible performance art.”  Honestly that’s all I could make out.  Ivy League speak seems to be very good at masking what’s really being said.  Makes a 10 page paper a breeze if one can do it right.

Obama would raise capital gains not for revenue, but to stick it to the rich.  Yes, because that’s what we need right now.  More reason for investors to not invest in American stock.  We’ve still got one of the highest rates for capital gains in the world.  Britain is below us!  But I digress…

Speaking of Britain I may be going there next year.  Live in The Strand for a semester.

Bush told the Pope that his speech was “awesome.”  How can anyone not love our president?

It’s about nine thirty now, and I think I should go get something to drink… or something.  Contemplate my next paper.  Just wanted to make sure that we didn’t have another day that is nothing but a quote.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Read the News Today Oh Boy…

  1. chocomooseman says:

    Well, I may be a hick from the north as well, but as an art student I can somewhat surmise what they’re trying to say. Unfortunately.

    “a creative fiction designed to draw attention to the ambiguity surrounding form and function of a woman’s body”

    Now as we all know form and function are just ways of saying how it looks and how it works. Throwing ambiguity in there is saying we don’t always realize the functions relative to the forms and vice versa.

    Basically, as some art students would tell you, you can bullshit your way through anything. Art isn’t about how it looks, it’s about the meaning behind it, and that can be as flawed or as meaningful as the artist wants. If they can say they felt something while ejaculating onto a piece of paper, they’ll call it art.

  2. keljeck says:

    See, I understand the difference between form and function. What I don’t understand is what they mean by the “ambiguity” between the both, and how pretending to induce abortions for a semester addresses it.

    The female body is curved, luscious, beautiful. That’s its form. Its function is to be human, and to develop babies. From the womb springs humanity.

    What’s the ambiguity here? Is she saying that we’re not sure what the female body’s form and function is? Is she saying that people fail to choose between the female form and function? How does pretending to induce abortion address these issues?

    When I hear this I don’t think, “why what a brilliant way to address western civilization’s ambiguity between the female form and function!” Rather I think, “that’s disgusting.” I understand art is supposed to have some underlying meaning, even if the meaning is that there’s no meaning. But the meaning here doesn’t connect to the action.

Leave a Reply

